## We have had 16 bishops (one, Charles-Jean Seghers, returned for a second term).

## **Bishops**

Modeste Demers (1846–1871)

Charles-Jean Seghers (1873–1878), appointed Coadjutor Archbishop of Oregon City, Oregon,

USA; returned here in 1884

Jean-Baptiste Brondel (1879–1883)

Charles-Jean Seghers (1884–1886); personal title of Archbishop

Jean-Nicolas Lemmens (1888–1897)

Alexander Christie (1898–1899), appointed Archbishop of Oregon City, Oregon, USA

Bertram Orth (1900–1908)

Alexander MacDonald (1908–1923)

Thomas O'Donnell (1923–1929), appointed Coadjutor Archbishop of Halifax, N. S.

Gerald C. Murray, C.SS.R. (1930–1934), appointed Bishop of Saskatoon, Sask.

John Hugh MacDonald (1934–1936), appointed Coadjutor Archbishop of Edmonton, AB.

John Christopher Cody (1936–1946), appointed Coadjutor Bishop of London, Ontario James Michael Hill (1946–1962)

Remi Joseph De Roo (1962–1999) – Bishop Emeritus

Raymond Roussin, S.M. (1999–2004), appointed Archbishop of Vancouver, B.C.

Richard Gagnon (2004–2014), appointed Archbishop of Winnipeg

Gary Gordon (2014–present)

**Note:** Bishop Emeritus Remi De Roo, who now lives in Nanaimo, was part of the Second Vatican Council (1962 -1965) and was the longest serving bishop of the diocese.